KonkerEEEEEEE!


Konkereeeee a video by Goyo P on Flickr.

Ahhhh! I love the sound of Red-winged Blackbirds in the spring. Today’s birding started very slow but picked up as the day went along. The 1 mile walk along the Pine trail at Hidden Lake Gardens was quiet….VERY quiet…except for the Crows. We probably saw the same number of Crows as we did all other species combined. I think it’s ok to say that the highlight of the Gardens today was the Spring Bulb Show in the conservatory.

My next stop on my short birding tour of Lenawee was Devils Lake/Round Lake. Round Lake typically has more birds than Devils but today it was completely frozen over. Devils Lake, however, had some open water on the Southeast side. I found the largest flock of waterfowl that I have ever seen there. There were Ring-necked Ducks, Canvasback, Redheads, American Widgeon, Coots, Scaup, Ruddy Ducks, Bufflehead and Goldeneye. Altogether there were close to 300 birds or more.

My goal after leaving Devils Lake was to drive the farm fields back to Tecumseh to look for flocks of blackbirds. I found a decent sized flock on the corner of Kemp and Wisner of approximately 200-300 birds. Most were Red-winged blackbirds, but mixed in with them were Cowbirds, Grackles and two Rusty Blackbirds.

My last stop of the day was Red Mill Pond. It’s only 100 yards from my house so I had to stop in and give a quick look. I stayed long enough to count 29 Common Merganser.

Overall it was a good day. It was beautiful with all the fresh snow on the ground but the wind was harsh. Every day I get to go birding is a good day no matter what the weather. But, I am starting to look forward to some warmer springtime weather. Bring on the warblers!!

Leave a Reply

